Awards to Honor Homes and Neighborhoods Where All Can Thrive

April 19, 2010

AARP and the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) announced a call for entries for the fourth annual Livable Communities Awards. The awards recognize architects, builders, developers and remodelers who make residential living more comfortable for people of all ages and abilities.

The projects should represent a forward-thinking combination of style, Universal Design and energy efficiency to make homes and developments that improve the daily comfort, ease of use and safety for the people who live in them.

All entries will be evaluated based on how well they adhere to a variety of principles, including design elements that accommodate the needs of all residents with all levels of physical ability from children through grandparents; easy access to community services and features such as retail, restaurants, medical, social and cultural activities, as well as viable transportation options; improved energy efficiency and enhanced site design; and better communication with key stakeholders.

Applications for the 2010 Livable Communities Awards are due on Friday, July
16, 2010 and must be submitted by 5 pm. Winning entries will be publicly recognized and announced at an awards program at the International Builders’ Show in Orlando, FL, in January 2011.

For complete judging criteria, click here.
Post a Comment
blog comments powered by Disqus
Ads by Google