Kitchen Design Contest Finalists Announced by Sub-Zero, Wolf and Cove

May 5, 2022

Sub-Zero, Wolf, and Cove – the industry leaders in premium refrigeration, cooking and dishwashing – have announced the 29 finalists and one student winner of the 2019-2021 Kitchen Design Contest (KDC).

“For nearly 30 years, the Kitchen Design Contest has been a time-honored tradition of recognizing and celebrating design professionals from around the world who are advancing the future of kitchen design,” said Jim Bakke, president and CEO of Sub-Zero Group, Inc. “We applaud these outstanding creators who continue to innovate, inspire, and push the creative boundaries for incorporating our appliances in the kitchen and beyond.”

At the close of the entry period on January 31, 2022, more than 1,700 completed entries had been received from 15 countries and 45 states. Of all entries, 56% percent were submitted by first-time entrants. All three design styles – traditional, contemporary, and transitional – were well-represented. The 29 finalists and one student winner represent a diverse mix of design aesthetics. (Above, a winning design from the 2017-18 Kitchen Design Contest; Kirstyn Lloyd, designer.)

The finalists were selected by a panel of seven architects, kitchen designers, and interior designers during an extensive review and deliberation of the entries at the Sub-Zero, Wolf and Cove headquarters in Madison. The talented judges, each a previous Kitchen Design Contest winner, all demonstrate a passion for good design and a dedication to the design community.

The 2019-2021 contest panel includes Davy Swanenberg of Culimaat High-End Kitchens (Netherlands), Jean Stoffer of Jean Stoffer Design (Grand Rapids, MI), Mark Stumer of Mojo Stumer Associates (Greenvale, NY), Martin de Sousa of Designström (Toronto, ON), Sandra Agurto of Cabinetry Creations, Inc. (Orlando, FL), Stacy Eisenmann of Eisenmann Architecture (Albany, CA), and first-time judge Martin Holliday of Chiselwood (United Kingdom)

“It has been a real honor to be a judge for the Kitchen Design Contest. I have been amazed at the quality in the discipline of kitchen design and have enjoyed the dialogue and discussions between the judges on the merits of each project,” said Mark Stumer, Mojo Stumer Associates. “As an architect and designer, I am proud to be associated with Sub-Zero, Wolf, and Cove, a company that places such value on both quality design and the art of the kitchen.”

Judge Martin de Sousa of Designström said, “It’s such a rewarding experience to review and deliberate on the most beautiful spaces from around the world. At a time when we are all experiencing limited access to friends, family and colleagues alike, the Kitchen Design Contest allowed us to connect and reflect on the design community.”

All finalists and the student winner will receive a trip for two to attend the Winners’ Summit and Gala, held October 9-12, 2022 in Nashville, Tennessee. The Summit is an invaluable opportunity for design professionals to network and share ideas. The contest’s 14 Global Winners will be announced at the gala honoring their achievements in design in the following categories: first-, second- and third-place in each of the Contemporary, Transitional and Traditional design categories; First-Time Entrant; Small Space Kitchen; and the newly introduced Best Use Outside of Kitchen and Emerging Professional.

The Sub-Zero Group Kitchen Design Contest finalists and Student Design winner are:

  • Mikal Otten of Exquisite Kitchen Design, Denver, Colorado
  • Celeste Robbins of Robbins Architecture, Winnetka, Illinois
  • Meryl Hare and co-entrant Kristie Nixon of Hare+Klein, Sydney, Australia
  • Adam Kane of Adam Kane Architects, South Melbourne, Australia
  • Brendan Bader and co-entrant Jillian Bader of Modern Nest, Scottsdale, Arizona
  • Trevor Wallace of Reflect Architecture in Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Karen Ferguson and co-entrant Robert Tretsch of Harrison Design, Atlanta, Georgia
  • Darren Genner and co-entrant Simona Castagna of Studio Minosa, Alexandria, Australia
  • Kristine Anderson and co-entrant Carl Olson of PKA Architecture along with co-entrants Lauren Buxbaum of Nate Berkus Interiors and Randy Haapala of HNH Homes, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Doug Durbin of NuHaus, Chicago, Illinois
  • Jonathan Spicer at Spicer Architecture and co-entrant Isabella Harris of Isabella Harris Design, Sydney, Australia
  • Brooke Voss and co-entrants Katie Gustafson of Brook Voss Design, Brian Grabski at Design and Made, Brody Schmid of Nor-Son Custom Builders, and James McNeal with James McNeal Architecture and Design, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Stephane Rasselet of naturehumaine architecture and design, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Barbara Foley and co-entrant Kim Bouton of Bouton and Foley Interiors, Inc., Paradise Valley, Arizona
  • Steve Karp of Bentwood of Chicago, Illinois
  • Christopher Gavralas of Latitude 37, Melbourne, Australia
  • April Tomlin of April Tomlin Interiors, Nashville, Tennessee
  • Cara Mamott of Haven Design Group and co-entrants Dan McFadden and Debbie Larson of PB Kitchen Design, Geneva, Illinois
  • Dovide Secter and co-entrant Lloyd Secter of Secter Architecture+Design, Ltd., Winnipeg, Canada
  • John Bornas at Workroom, Richmond, Australia
  • Andrea Swan of Swan Architecture and co-entrants Sue Weldon of Harris Weldon Interiors and Kareem Reda of Anderson Reda, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Josianne Berube of AKA architecture+design, Inc., Squamish, British Columbia, Canada
  • Lynnette Sandgren at Renaissance Homes, Lake Oswego, Oregon
  • Mick De Giulio and co-entrants Kathy Manzella and Gregg Webb of de Giulio Kitchen Design, Wilmette, Illinois
  • Miriam Fanning of Mim Design, South Yarra, Australia
  • Bruce Kading of Bruce Kading Interior Design, Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Carolina Chavez and co-entrant Cesar Chavez at C Squared Design+Build, Valencia, California
  • Jack Creasy of Jack Creasy Design and co-entrant Rhonda Thornton of Bloomsbury Fine Cabinetry, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Student Design Winner: Afnan Bashaikh of Drexel University in King of Prussia, Pennsylvania